Affordable 15" sub?

Bronze Member
Username: Amish

Riverside, CA

Post Number: 17
I'm looking for a sub to go along with my Infinity Beta speakers.

The room is 23ft X 17ft with vaulted ceiling.

I'm looking for SQ over SPL and want a 15 because I want very low bass. Sub 27Hz.

Any ideas welcome.

Silver Member
Username: Kevincorr

Fairbanks, Alaska Usa

Post Number: 394
I am no expert but bought HsU based on rave reviews and dealer recommendation because it is one of the best priced sub.

Absolute sound gave a REL the best of the year this year.
I think some of the regulars here recommend it too.

Bronze Member

Riverside, CA

Post Number: 24
HsU makes some nice kit. No 15" in the line up but I imagine it's not needed. $499 is a bit much for me though. At the same time I do know you get what you pay for. Still with my limited budget I'm not sure I can justify spending $500+ for a sub.

Silver Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 110
The HSU Research VTF3-HO should 'bout do it.
claimed response to 16hz in max extension mode.
500 watts and a ship weight of 93lb. only a grand

On the other hand, the VTF1 at a substanially lower price point meets your requirements but may be spread a little thin in so large a room. The Maple finish is nice.

NOW:: what do you want? sound reinforcement for movies? Heavy rock at nosebleed levels? Clear classic kettledrums? 1812 Overture at realistic levels?

If your average ceiling height is 9 feet, you are at about 3500cubic feet. Keep this in mind when making a purchase.

Silver Member

Fairbanks, Alaska Usa

Post Number: 397
I don't really know your main speakers. Mine are small monitors with not much bass. I am starting to think that some bigger speakers in the 1st place would be more simple but I moved around a lot and liked the monitors.
Well, my sub, VTF2 is a monster. It can really rock. It replaced a MK which did not have the tone quality. More of a fuzzy boom like car bass.