Woofer help needed

Username: Rikitikitimbo

Post Number: 1
hey everyone I need some help. I'm a college student and some kids leaving school left two woofers, a js1000-a and a bose acoustimass 7. The jenson 12" is powered and the bose is not. I have two very nice b&w speakers (8" driver and tweet). My amp/receiver is a marantz sr-63 w/ two sets of stereo outputs. I live in a fairly large apt that is somewhat load. From another post it is recommended that a face down woofer not be used. Ok. But my first question: will hooking up a passive woofer to my second set of speaker outputs decrease the amount of power to the main speakers hooked up to the other speaker outputs? I'm figuring that I shouldn't hook up the bose woofer to the b&w's because I would get double xover and the b&w 8's give better sound than the bose 8's. My next question: lets say I decide to hook up the jenson. Should my route go amp-jensen-b&w? Or should both the woofer and speakers both be hooked directly up to the receiver?
And last but not least: I'm getting no sound from the jensen. Geuss thats why it was thrown out. The power button is green, the fuse is not blown. hooked up to reciever and no output. turned up volume, switched from 180deg to 0deg. Changed xover freq. Tried anything I could think of. To test I just need to hook directly to receiver, correct? And do I need both L and R hooked up? If I still get no sound, what was the test of touching the wire? And what might I do to avoid taking the whole thing apart and performing amateur surgery? The thing was free so tinkering only risks the opportunity cost of fixing and testing, giving or selling it away...unless it is recommended to use this woofer.
Sorry about the length but i got a lot of questions.
Thanks

Anonymous

Dump them both! That's step one.

Try selling them on eBay.. with the cake you get for the two of them, buy either an SVS or M&K Powered Sub. At any level they will be far better than what you had.

Username: Mustang1968