NAD T742 - DTS issue?

Username: Maroonmike

Post Number: 1
Newbie here...

I have a NAD T742 receiver and when I play DTS tracks (like DTS music CDS), the first couple of seconds of the track is missed while the receiver is "loads" the DTS setting. Also, sometimes while the song is playing, the track cuts out for a second.

Is this an issue with the receiver or a setting I need to adjust? Thanks!

BTW, I am using a NAD T532 DVD player connected via an optical cable.

Silver Member
Username: Johnny

Missouri

Post Number: 306
Mike,

The "skip" of the first millisecond of a CD is normal when playing through a player connected with a digital cable. The receiver has to have this time to recognize what signal it is being sent (analog or digital, Dolby Digital or DTS, etc). This is common to many receiver brands, not just NAD. If you want to get around it, connect the player to the receiver using analog cables. This takes the "guesswork" out of it for the receiver. However, the cutout of the song while the track is playing definately is not normal. What happens when this occurs? What does the display of the NAD do? Is it only on these DTS disks? Does this happen when you are watching movies too? More information might be helpful.

Post Number: 2
Thanks. I guess I will try the analog cables because it takes more like 2 seconds for it to recognize the DTS source. This is a big problem for music CD's because it does every time I change tracks manually. I guess the T742 is very slow selecting the DTS source????

The 'cutout' problem only happens on DTS discs (not DD) and I only have the problem after switching tracks. In other words, if a start the CD and let it play - no problem. If I change tracks, then I get this random 'mute' for .5 seconds around every 45 seconds or so. I have to stop the CD, choose the track, and press play to fix the problem.

Silver Member

Missouri

Post Number: 307
Mike,