High current or normal?

Bronze Member
Username: Xxraiderxx

1, Ga Us

Post Number: 23
what is the diffrence cuz i wanna get this hardon kardon but it says its 50watts per channel

and the otherones say like 110watts per channel
which ones are better & yes im a noob

Gold Member
Username: Kano

BC Canada

Post Number: 1009
Most receivers fudge their numbers to market their receivers. Harman Kardon does not, 50 watts is the minimum the unit will deliver driving a full load across all channels. If you look at some manufacturer's product line, you will see every receiver from their $200 model to their $2000 model is 100W/C. Which ones really are? When one weighs 20lbs, and the other 60lbs, it is easy to tell which has the power supply and heat sinks to deliver the most power.

Gold Member
Username: Petergalbraith

Rimouski, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 1555
"High current" means that the receiver can handle a more difficult load (lower impedence) such as speakers rated at a nominal 4-ohms (instead of 8 ohms), or with low dips at certain frequencies.

It's a good thing.

Bronze Member
Username: Xxraiderxx

1, Ga Us

Post Number: 24
OK CUZ IM NEW TO THIS I DONT KNOW WHAT THE F$%@ IS WHAT THANKS

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1421
Raider,

Being new to this does not give you the right to go around yelling at people...it's counter-productive in the long run because people will stop answering you.

Peter is quite correct. The point he was making is that if a speaker is rated with a lower impedance, then it requires more current to drive it. So typically speakers come in three main guises, 4-ohm, 6-ohm and 8-ohm. An 8 ohm speaker needs half the current of a 4-ohm speaker and a 6-ohm speaker is somewhere in between.