Rotel RX-1052 or RB-1070 with B&W DM604

Username: Grazianos

Newport Beach, CA USA

Post Number: 1
Thank you in advance for your help. I'm more than a little clueless.

It was recommended by my local audio dealer that I match the B&W 604s that I am planning on purchasing (hopefully this week) with the Rotel RX-1050/1052. When I compared the numbers to what you get with the RB&RC 1070, the differences seemed pretty significant. For the $300 extra bucks or so, am I better off going with the RB-RC combo? I don't care about having a tuner; I won't use it. I have a record player but rarely use it. I'm not a real audiophile.

I should note that I live in a condo, so I won't be cranking this music. And I listen mostly to adult alternative music. [This may lead you to question why I'm getting 604s instead of 603s - they sound a lot better to me, but if I'm just wasting money, please tell me]

Thanks so much for your help. As you can tell, I'm a newbie to this stuff.

Username: Grazianos

Newport Beach, CA USA

Post Number: 2
Oh - I should note that I run a Roku SoundBridge with lossless format music instead of a CD player. If this is idiotic or affects your advice, please say so. I enjoy not having to keep track of my CDs.

Silver Member
Username: Stu_pitt

NYC, NY

Post Number: 785
The best advice I can give is go with what ever sounds best to you. You're the only one who really knows if the extra $300 is worth it.

Their are advantages and disadvantages to each one. The receiver offers an all in one package, takes up less space, has a tuner (but you say you don't care about it) and has fewer wires to deal with and buy.