Need to buy an amp...not sure integrated/pre..for a pair of bookshelf speakers

Unregistered guest
Hi Guys!

Need some advice.....just bought a pair of old Bose 201's Series II speaker (8 ohms) from an old lady, rarely used and want to connect them to my computer. So i need an amp and i'm not sure how much power i need. I'm a student in India on a shoe-string budget, live in a small room, so dont need anything very powerful. ..Also, would there be a huge diff in sound quality getting something branded or built up (for my needs)

Thanks so much! Would appreciate a quick reply!
N

Silver Member
Username: Cheapskate

Post Number: 367
if you just want an amp for a PC and want a SUPER CHEAP amplifier, get the sonic impact class-t. if you're sitting right by your speakers, you don't need that much power. most PC speaker amps are less than 10wpc anyways, but the class-t (only $30 usd) is getting alot of favorable reviews.

i don't know what your power connections are in india, but the class-t can run off of 8 batteries, you could take it anywhere you want, and use it with a portable CD player etc.

make sure that your bose speakers are shielded before you put them next to a monotor unless it's a plasma unit. if you see rainbow patterns when you put the speakers close to the screen, don't use them.

here's a review for the sonic impact... you can't get anything this cheap...
http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/sonicimpact/t.html

this amp should give you adequate power. i'm using a 20wpc yamaha boombox right now with 89dB speakers, and am not even pushing the amp hard.

Neil M
Unregistered guest
Hey Thanks! Looking up sonic and will ask a friend to get it for me. Its excellent at $30!

Silver Member

Post Number: 381
glad to help.

if you really wanted to go super hi fi for just a little bit more, you could always go with a monsoon mm-700 system that includes amps, a subwoofer and awesome planar speakers for about $100.