Kenwood 6070 auto THX EX does this mean THX EX is active.

ken daniel
I've been wanting to ask this for awhile now so here goes.
when the THX EX [orange indicator] lights up
does this mean THX EX is active.
i put on auto THX EX but it seems like nothing happens just stays on the screen in blue that its just [DOLBY DIGITAL]. but [DTS ES DISCRETE]AND [DOLBY D EX] will show on screen in blue
shouldn't it show up something like this on screen
[THX EX DISCRETE]or something in blue that it is in THX EX mode. i was at my local electronics
store witch is ultimate electronics and they
had a pioneer witch model i don't know but when
in THX EX mode it had actually said [THX EX DIS]
im just curious .any feed back would be great to hear thanks in advance

Well i like to know my self .... anybody ?

Gatisimo
I'm not an expert, so I will refer to this link: http://www.timefordvd.com/tutorial/SurroundSound.shtml

According to that page, THX-EX is equivalent to Dolby Digital EX, so that's probably why the receiver just says Dolby Digital EX in blue. The orange THX EX indicator is probably just there so you know THX EX is active.

Gatisimo : thanks
for the response
oh and congrats on that price match .
ive paid a total of $560.00
a 4 year plan included for my vr-6070 kenwood
at best buy price matched with Circuit City
had it for $530.00 and best buy gives an addional
10% for any price matching that they do

Carl van
Hi, I have a couple of questions.

1. I have a 6.1 set-up, with a center surround speaker. When I watch a DTS-ES movie, such as Gladiator, my 6070 correctly displayers the "DTS-ES Discrete" header. However, when I throw in a Dolby-Digital EX" movie in there (such as Phantom Menace), my receiver only displays "Dolby Digital". I have to manually select "Dolby D EX", even though I have Full Auto selected, and I chose "Dolby Digital EX" in the sound set-up of the DVD. Does anyone else have this problem?