Hk 325 questions

hound dog
Unregistered guest
1. I have two tower fronts and a center. Should the volume sound louder in the "surround off" (stereo) mode? The volume on all other selections seems to be pretty much the same, but on "surround off" the volume is louder.
2, On the remote control what is the difference between the selecions made with the "surround select" button (theater, hall 1 &2, vmax, etc.) and the choices made with the "mode select" buttons (dolby, dts, etc.)

Username: Topher

Post Number: 2
1. The only reason I can think of for this is that the channel levels are set different from the other modes. I have mine set to 5 channel stereo & had to calibrate the channel levels as per the manual.
2. I'm no expert, but I think theater, hall etc. are artificially created to sound like a venue by adding things like reverb, while the others employ channel steering & delay.

hound dog
Unregistered guest
Topher, and Geekboy would you chime in?
1. do you set the volume for every mode? What page in the manual?
2. For example, if I'm using "Hall 1" or "Vmax" does this mean I can't also be using DD at the same time?

Username: Geekboy

Post Number: 34
hound dog: yes, the sound level is different in Stereo vs. Multi-Channel mode for any of a number of reasons, including what Topher wrote.

First, the power output is DIFFERENT in Stereo vs. n-channel mode. For the AVR-325, the output in Stereo is 65W and n-channel is 50W, so that alone will make it different.

Also, you have to adjust the speakers for each mode of the receiver. For example, Dolby Digital adjustments are different from DTS adjustments are different from Stereo adjustments.

Could be confusing -- but I actually like -- that this is for each input as well. So the receiver remembers the settings (adjustments) for DVD/Dolby Digital versus Video 1/Dolby Digital. (At least when you have the Bass Management set to "INDEPENDENT" which is how I have mine set.)