Using a Denon 1905 Pre-out for Power Amp??

Username: Dommerdog

Post Number: 1
I have been using a pre-amp/ power amp setup for the last 10 years. The Amp is a B&K ST140 with a matching pre-amp and JPW AP3 speakers with upgraded x-over. I am finishing my new shound room, and for the first time, I will integrate Home Theatre with my music room (blame it on the kids!)

I do not wish to part with my current power amp setup, the B&K is so smooth and warm with music (very "tube-like" sound). I was thinking of using a hone theater receiver with pre-outs to keep my power amp. I am concerned of the following:
- The sound dynamics of the Denon's other channels will not match the B&K in 5.1/surround modes
- Will the Denon do a good job as a pre-amp??

I can get a good deal on the Denon 1905 (USD$300).

Opinions?

Silver Member
Username: Landroval

Post Number: 654
"The sound dynamics of the Denon's other channels will not match the B&K in 5.1/surround modes?"

No they wont. The smaller Denons have a bright and thin sound which is nowhere near tube-like. A better choice would be the new Marantz SR4500/5500 which have a very pleasing and warm sound (assuming they sound the same as the models before) and sufficent power even all channels driven.

Username: Dommerdog

Post Number: 2
What about a used Marantz 6200? I got a line on one for a good price.

If the sound is good and not cheap sounding, I may turf my power amp.

Unregistered guest
I would like to use a setup with a power amp rotel rb 1070 and a pre-amp like denon 1905 or marantz5500.
Which is the better choice and why

Silver Member
Username: Landroval

Post Number: 678
Well, I still think that the sound of Marantz and Rotel are a lot closer than Denon and Rotel. Denon is bright, while Rotel and Marantz are more polite and warm. Marantz is also more powerfull so it would be a better choice.

The SR6200 has a weak power supply so if you go for Marantz I suggest you look for atleast SRx300.

Unregistered guest