Total newbie here...Please help

Username: Bonovox

Post Number: 1
Guys I am thinking of building a Home theater.
Most of my music is digital on my computer which is stereo.

My budget is around $1000 for AV receiver and speakers. At this moment I am not worried about DVD player and I already have a TV.

Question: The sound output is stereo from my computer so if I connect it to the receiver, will it be automatically converted into surround (6.1 or 7.1)

What do you recommend in my price range?
I prefer 7.1 but am willing to compromise to 5.1 provided I get a good quality.

Any help wil be greatly appreciated.

Silver Member
Username: Edison

Glendale, CA US

Post Number: 545
I would stick with stereo - do we really need 6 speakers for movies?

Getting good 2 speakers will be better at your price point.

You can get these if you don't mind used, and get a hint of smooth upscale sound.

http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls.pl?intatran&1099094187

http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls.pl?spkrmoni&1099106059

I would get the sub with the Spicas.

Or for a little more, this one is nice too.

http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls.pl?spkrmoni&1099092670

This way, you will end up with a cut or two above what you had in mind.

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 1272
The sound output from the computer will not be automatically converted into any surround format. You have to do it manually via receiver, even then it will not be in a true surround format, all it will do is matrix the stereo channels and distribute it to the surrounding speakers.
Check out the offerings from HK.

Silver Member
Username: Arnold_layne

MadridSpain

Post Number: 124