Please recommend receiver to go with Infinity Speakers

Username: Googol_plex

Post Number: 1
Good Day, All!

I currently have a Rotel RCD-965BX CD Player, RA-980BX Amplifier and a pair of Infinity Reference Series 30 Floor Standing Speakers. It is a system that I've been using for more than 10 years, with great pleasure I might add!

I now want to add home theatre capability. My room size is approximately 4m x 4m. I intend buying Infinity Alpha 10 Bookshelf Speakers for rear effects, and also the Infinity Alpha Centre.

I would have loved to go out and buy the Rotel RSX-1055 because I am a big Rotel fan, but I simply cannot afford it.

I am considering the Sony STR-DB790 and the Pioneer VSX-D812K. Which one would suit the Infinity speakers better?

I am also considering the NAD T752 and T753, but concerned about the problems reported by a number of users on this forum.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Username: Johnny

Post Number: 27
Rajesh,

What is your budget? I would definately not recommend the Sony or the Pioneer (I would, however, recommend anything in the Pioneer Elite line). The Sony especially has a very bright sound and a poor power supply, and would thus be a bad match with your Infinity speakers. I would recommend the NAD models. NAD has a much more mellow sound and would match better with your speakers. If you buy from an authorized dealer, you should be fine as far as potential NAD problems. I would also recommend Marantz, HK, and Elite with your speakers.

Post Number: 2
Hello Johnny

Thank you very much for the reply.

My budget extends up to the T752 price range. Everything that I've read so far is that the NAD T752 is the best choice from an audio quality point of view. As I mentioned before, my only concern is the reliability issue raised by other participants in this forum.