Comments please-PSB vs Mission with Marantz

Mark P
Unregistered guest
I am new to home theatre so I will appologize now if this has been asked before. I have just finished a family room 16x27. What I have read here over the last while has led me to the marantz 5400. My local dealer carries Misson and PSB. I am not really familiar with either. These are the combinations I listened to. I thought they were pretty similiar, but I need to go back with some of my own music to test further.

Mission M34 towers and M3C2 center

PSB Image 4T towers and Image 8C center

I know sound is a personal choice but I would appreciate any comments or experience people may have on these set-ups. If there are other brands of speakers that match with Marantz better please let me know.
Thanks for the help.

I will be adding matching rear and sub to either set-up also.

Silver Member
Username: Landroval

Post Number: 524
At Homecinema-FR some people have Cambridge Audio 540R + Mission combo and they praise it very much. The CA isn't sonically too different from the Marantz, so the Missions could be a good match.

When selecting a center speaker you should make sure that it uses the very same drivers than the mains. Otherwise it will sound different and spoil the front soundfield.

Silver Member
Username: Arnold_layne

MadridSpain

Post Number: 102
A couple of experiences with older and inferior SR4300 (I think technology is similar, unless we're talking audio enhanced SR5400 OSE):

- Fairly linear frequency response, which allows focusing on match speakers versus room acoustics.
- Distortion on low volumes, a typical electrical phenomenon for cheap-o amps. If you don't like to play it loud, It might be better to go for receiver with lesser Watts or even speakers with fewer dBs. The idea is to make amp work moderately hard.

Cheers
AL

Username: Nm2285

Delaware

Post Number: 5