Annoying hum from Azur 640c

Username: David_s

Post Number: 1
Just wondering if anybody else has had a problem with hum from this machine? The first one I bought started to hum after a few days. The replacement I obtained today is doing it right from the start. There is no mains hum over the speakers, and the sound quality is really good (Mission Cyrus One amp and Monitor Audio Silver 5i speakers). But (and its a big but) every break in the music is filled with a noticeable 50 Hz hum. I can even feel the vibration through the player's casing. The retailer suggests that the reason it hums is because it has a big transformer in it, but I'm not buying that; the Cyrus One has an impressively big transformer in it, is ancient, but still makes almost no noise at all. I am contemplating switching to an equivalent spec NAD because of this problem, but I really like the Azur's sound. Am I likely to regret such a move? Cheers.

Username: Graemeadams

Post Number: 1
i am new to this Hi-Fi thing...but i returned my azur 640c. not only did i have the annoying hum but also a 'clickety click' on some cd's...the noise came from the mechanism not through the speaker...the guy at RS tried another 640c with the same result. i'm dissapointed as the sound quality is excellent...but i could't live with the annoying rattle and hum thing...now i have a lonely azur 640a looking for a cd player...i think the Nad c542 is the nxt port of call...

Username: Modulated

Hollywood, CA

Post Number: 4
I just got my 640C yesterday and set it up for break-in (36 hours straight of Thelonius Monk). I didn't bother connecting it to an amp yet, so I haven't listened. I do hear a tiny tick as the CD spins, but it's negligible and wouldn't be heard if there was music. It may even be the particular CD being spun. No hum is noticeable without it being connected, I'll report back after I patch it in.

Anynamewilldo
Unregistered guest