Turntable sounds low even with pre-amp.

Username: Jimmyfasthands

Bel Air, MD United States

Post Number: 1
Hi,

I'm new to vinyl/turntables. I'm running an
Audio-Technica turntable(AT-LP60) through a
Sony receiver (CMTSBT100) Links to both below.

The turntable says it has a built in pre-amp
but certain things (like vocals) sounds reallylow with this setup. It sounds like what you'dhear out of only one speaker though both are
working.

The receiver doesn't have phono inputs... onlya single aux input. So I'm running the dual
outputs from the turntable into a converter
cable that came with it in order to plug it
into the receiver.

Should I return the sony and get a receiver
that has dual inputs? Also, would a receiver
with phono inputs sound best?

Thanks for your help.

http://www.audio-technica.com/cms/turntables/9a7f42b88ee1e14b/index.html

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/sony-50w-bluetooth-micro-music-system-black/1549014. p?id=1219054924637&skuId=1549014

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 18068

"The turntable says it has a built in pre-amp but certain things (like vocals) sounds really low with this setup. It sounds like what you'd hear out of only one speaker though both are
working."

I don't understand this statement. Electronic devices such as phono pre amps have no ability to discriminate between certain frequencies. Additionally, mono (one channel) recordings do not sound as if the vocal is lower in level.

I assume you are using the 3.5 mm adapter because the Sony lacks discrete RCA plug connections for the Aux input. I would not put my money on a defective cable or adapter.

Are all of the recordings down in level? Not just vocals but, all music?

Is the internal pre amp's switch (on the rear of the table's base) set to "Line"? That's the correct setting for this set up.

Is the stylus assembly fully seated in the cartridge body? (See pgs, 6 & 7 of the owner's manual.)