Increasing Volume from Turntable/Phono.

I have my fathers old hitachi (ht-354) turntable with an audio technica moving magnet catridge (AT91), I play it through a farily poor Sherwood integrated amp (RA-1145R, 50w per channel) I also have a Marantz CD36 cd player, my speakers are Wharfedale CRS5. My problem is basically my turntable plays far quieter than my cd player and I want to make it louder. Is this problem due to a poor quality catridge?, an overly loud cd player? (making the turntable seem quiet in comparison) or a poor phono stage in my amp? I don't know much about audio so any advice would be appreciated as I don't want to fork out money on a new amp or catrdige if it won't fix this problem. Oh additionally I'm a poor student so my audio choices are always 2nd hand.

Paul T
I have the same problem with my 15 yr old Technics turntable into my 12 yr old Yamaha receiver. Lucky me, I am getting a new NAD T752 receiver next week and since most new receivers do not have a phono pre amp built in anymore I also ordered a NAD PP2 Phono pre amp. I should be able to tell you next week at this time if it made any difference. To tell you the truth though I really don't expect to see much difference, just think it's the nature of the beast... but I will check back in when all is hooked up..

thanks, yeah I have been looking at buying a new amp for a while but just want to see if this problem is consistant with all amps as turntables have a smaller input level than cd players.

Paul T
Well received NAD receiver and PP2 phono pre amp and yes the phono is not as loud as the CD player. This is a very good NAD T752 receiver and the PP2 is NAD's newest phono preamp so I believe it's just the nature of the beast, phonos are just not as loud volume wise..