Denon DRA 435R

Username: Traveler_27

Beulah, N.D. USA

Post Number: 1
This is my first time and question on line. I have a Denon dra 435r tuner and in the manuel it states under amplifier section: 80w+80w at 4 ohms and 55w+55w at 8 ohms. Then on the back by the speaker connections it states A or B 6~16 /speaker, then A+B 12~16 / speaker. Can some body explain what all this means. I'm new at this so any help is great.

Gold Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 2979
The power output of the receiver is based on the speaker impedance. For transistor amps.....otherwise known as solid state, power typically goes UP as impedance goes down. In a robustly built amp, power will double when impedance is halved.
Your Denon is listing the power output at 4ohms which is the low 'typical' value for speakers and at 8ohms which is more normal for HT speakers.
The speaker outputs.....listed as A or B should NOT drop below 6 ohms and have recommended maximum of 16 ohms. This will be the nominal rating for each speaker. When you see A+B as the control, you need to compute the impedance of the speakers in parallel. For SAME speakers, this is 1/2 of the impedance listed. A pair of 8ohm speakers will be OK, by this listing.
The REAL way is to compute the value of speakers in parallel and forget the A+B nonsense listed. For 2 identical speakers in parallel, you simply divide the impedance by 2. For 8 ohm speakers, that would be 4 ohms. A pair of 4 ohm speakers would end up as 2 ohms and NOT be allowed. The amp would NOT like you to do this.