Nice speakers, what about the amp?

Username: Berniew

Perth, Western Aust... Australia

Post Number: 2
Hi all,
I'm new to the forum and to home audio in general.
I've been a full-time live sound engineer for something over the last 20 years. I just got my first home setup and I love it. I've only had it 5 days now.
All the sounds I want to hear are centred around my PC; I transfer all my music to my hard drive first, even CD's, and I don't own any other playback device. I'll explain that in a minute. I also hook the TV up to the DAC with a TOSlink optical cable, so DTV and movies go through the system too.
The system is:
Dynaudio X16 spkrs
Cambridge Audio DACMagic Plus dig-to-analogue converter
Yamaha DSP-E800 amp

Interconnects (DAC to amp) are Tara Labs' Prism 200a (1 metre)
Spkr cables: MIT Exp, with 2x14 gauge and 2x18 gauge cores per cable, 2.5 metres

Equipment is much more expensive here in Australia than the USA.. I really wanted Dynaudio Focus 160's, but couldn't afford them. In the end I bought X16's. For the price, I'm really happy. They've only been used 20 or 30 hours and I've heard they really need 100 hours at good volume to run them in properly.

What I'm trying to do is a reasoable quality digital playback system, for recreation and a small amount of commercial work, where you'd usually use studio monitors. I chose these as a good compromise, since I'll only do a little bit of the commercial stuff.

Now, my questions:

Can anyone give me a comparison of the X16's vs either Focus 140's or Focus 160's? How similar are the components, inc crossover and drivers, and would anyone care to compare the sound?

Main question: