Problems connecting a Hitachi LCD HDTV to an old Pioneer Stereo Reciever

Username: Thecombomeal

Post Number: 1
I'm a college student trying to work with the equipment I have lying around my apartment. I have a 40" Hitachi LCD (Model #: L40A105A). I'm trying to run the audio out to an old Pioneer stereo I got from my dad (Model SX-636). I've got the audio out from the TV running to the aux input on the receiver. The audio comes through the speakers extremely soft with a lot of noise over it. I'm wondering if it's because the stereo is from the 70's and the TV is new, or if it is something else and if there's anyway to fix it. Thanks for the help.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 17290

Does the receiver operate without problems on other sources? Does the tuner (radio) sound OK?

Username: Thecombomeal

Post Number: 2
I plugged in my phone to the Phono/Mic port on the front. There's sound but the left speaker produces a lot of crackling.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 17291

Off hand, I'd say you're dealing with a near forty year old receiver. Parts go bad and wear out. There are a few shops which specialize in repairing units such as a 636 and there are people who think the sound of the old Pioneers is quite good. I'm not one of those people since I sold the Pioneers of that vintage and they were generally considered to be cheap products with subpar performance. During the period in which the 636 was designed and built, the Japanese manufacturers were in a race to see which company could produce the highest wattage for the lowest dollar amount. This, in my opinion and the opinion of others, led to cutting corners where corners shouldn't have been cut. As I've said, there is a group of people who would disgaree with that statement.