Connecting to a Powered Subwoofer

Username: Learners_permit

Post Number: 1
Hi - I am very new in this field. Can anyone kindly assist me in how I should connect my Powered Subwoofer. I have read a lot and still finds it confusing. Should I connect the Powered Subwoofer Line Level In (Left & Right) to the 5.1 Surround Tube Amplifer 'Subwoofer' Out (Single RCA) or should I connect the Powered Subwoofer Line Level In (Left & Right) to the DVD/SACD Player Subwoofer Out (Single RCA)?
Someone told me that since my Powered Subwoofer has already being amplifed and I should not connect from the 5.1 Tube Amplifier and instead to connect from the DVD/SACD Player Subwoofer Out. The cable I need to use is a 1 RCA to 2 RCAs to the Powered Subwoofer Line Level In (Left & Right). To add further confusion, someone said I need only a single RCA Subwoofer cable and connect to the Line Level In LEFT since Bass is mono only.
My Powered Subwoofer is a M & K 8" KX10.
Others suggested that I should connect speakers wire from my Tube Amplifier 5.1 Surround labelled 'Subwoofer' to the Powered Subwoofer Left & Right IN from amplifier.
Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 17112

Your DVD/SACD player has no facility to control volume which tracks the output of the ampifier feeding signals to your speakers. Making the sub connection here would result in a single level of output from the sub. This line out from the player should run into the (pre) amp section of your system if you aren't using any digital connections from the player. This obviously then depends on how you have your system set up. Coaxial or optical digital connections or HDMI would carry the full 5.1 output of the player and no further "sub out" connections are required from the player to the (pre) amp.