Bi-wiring Query

Username: Confuseddave

Post Number: 1
Hey there; I have a Denon AVR-1802, I'm currently using as a 3 speaker setup mainly for music; a pair of TDL Nucleus 2's and a Gale Centre 10.

My speakers are biwirable, and I've heard this can improve sound quality, and my Amp has twin outputs; so I'm thinking of trying and seeing the improvement. The only thing is I'm paranoid of blowing up my system (I'm a student and can't afford to replace it!) So my query is this; what does biwiring do to the Impedance of the speakers? The TDL's are rated at 6-8ohms; my amp reckons A or B at 6-16ohms per channel and A+B at 12-16ohms per channel.

Would biwiring the speakers give me 4 speakers at, like, 2ohms each, or do they stay at 6-8? If they split, is it even, or does the woofer have a different impedence to the tweeter? Would you recommend bi-wiring on both channels, just one channel, or not bothering?

Cheers for your thoughts.

Silver Member
Username: Soccer

Post Number: 236
Those impedance limitations on your amp are telling you not to bother biwiring, 'cause the design is not made for real biwiring, but rather adding 2 more speakers in series to the system.
Don't even try it.

Silver Member
Username: Kegger

MICHIGAN

Post Number: 889
dave the impedance will stay the same so their is
no fear of blowing your system.

the way impedance works on speakers is each individual
driver "woofer/midrange/tweeter" has it's own
impedance.

so say your speakers are rated at 8 ohms. now when
you play bass it goes to the woofer which is 8ohms
and when the music/amplification sends out treble
it goes to the tweeter which is 8 ohms and so on.

so when a speaker is rated at 8 ohms that means
when a given frequency is played it's load to the
amp is 8ohms.

you only change the impedance when more than 1 driver
plays the same frequencies.

take a 3way speaker, it has a crossover in it which
sends the bass to the woofer the midrange to the mid
and the treble to the tweeter.