Hooking two stereos from different rooms together

Username: Madcow1515

Post Number: 1
Hi, I'm not sure if I'm posting in the right forum or not, but here goes...

Okay, my record player is in my bedroom, but I spend most of the time in my living room, as that's where the computer is, and it's been bugging me that I can't listen to records while I'm in the living room. I was thinking about possibly running a cable from the stereo in my bedroom to the stereo in my living room. That way I can put on a record in my bedroom, walk into the living room, flip the stereo in here to AUX, and voila: LPs in the living room! I think it would be a really cool setup to have. The only thing that's really making me hesitate is that in order to keep from having a long ugly wire running through the house, I'd probably have to run the cable through the attic, which I've never done before. I thought that a 75-100ft cable would cost a lot of money, but I found a few really nice deals on Ebay. So really, the actual setting up is the only thing that's holding me back. Does this sound like a crazy idea? Would it be worth the trouble? I know it would be a lot easier to just get another record player and hook it up to this stereo, but I don't feel like having to buy another turntable, a needle for it, or a preamp for it.

Anyone know of an easy solution to pull something like this off?

J. Vigne
Unregistered guest
Once you start climbing around in the attic you will probably decide another table sounds like a really good idea. Do you know how to locate the wall you want to drop the cable down once you're up in the attic? Do you know how to drop a cable down a wall if there's a firebreak in the wall? How about if the walls are filled with insulation? Are you sure you can drill the holes and not hit an electrical cable?

Even after you have the wires run you still have to go to the other room to change the record sides.

Post Number: 2