Can amp be used with a/v receiver?

Bronze Member
Username: Mad320

Upstate NY, NY USA

Post Number: 14
I'm kind of new at the higher end audio stuff, but I have one question for someone to answer. I have only owned a/v receivers and never seperate amp pre amps and tuners. I have a marantz SR6400 receiver and have just bought Paradigm referance studio 100s. My question is when I started to play it on the loud side louder than normal, it went into protect mode. I never had this happen with my other speakers. Just wondering if maybe the bannana plugs were a little loose when I first plugged them in? (were checked again) or if speakers are to much for receiver. Second question. Is it possible or correct to ad a seperate amp to go with my receiver and run speakers off that or is it better to by a receiver in the future that can run the speakers. I realize maybe a little vauge in question but any help would be appreciated.

Silver Member
Username: Kegger

MICHIGAN

Post Number: 863
michael i'm using an external amp on my reciever
many people do this.

it's one way to start getting all your amps so
you can make your move to seperates later if you wish.

and by putting a 2 channel amp on your front speakers
makes it a lot easier on your reciever "probably
never go into protect mode again" also if you get
a nice quality 2 channel amp for your front speakers
you'll probably notice a good sound improvement
also, excspecialy when playing 2 channel material.

go for it i think you will be very happy with the results.

there are some nice used amps on audiogon.com for
good prices.

J. Vigne
Unregistered guest
Michael, here's an answer I gave to another question that might help you out. You might also go to "definitions and descriptions" under "Speakers" in this forum for more on amplifiers.