Need affordable receiver suggestion

Username: Aoday

Post Number: 1
Hey guys,

I'm sure you get these threads all the time but any help would be appreciated. I am pretty much a noob when it comes to home audio. I recently got the Mirage Nanosat 5.1 speaker system and I need a receiver so I can put them to use! I am a college student so you know, something cheaper (around $200? I'm not really sure) would be a plus. I am mostly going to use it for music and a bluetooth adapter that lets me play music wirelessly from my laptop would be helpful.

Platinum Member
Username: Plymouth

Canada

Post Number: 16494
Welcome to eCoustics AoDay!

http://shopper.cnet.com/av-receivers/yamaha-rx-v371/4014-6466_9-34533967.html

http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-YBA-10WH-Bluetooth-Wireless-Receivers/dp/B0013Z9F6G

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, South Carolina

Post Number: 14326
Just a suggestion.. if you plan to use this system for music, and not television/movies, you may want to sell that 5.1 speaker system and just go with a good pair of floor standing main speakers.

Gold Member
Username: Superjazzyjames

Post Number: 1661
I agree with Glasswolf that stereo is best for music. Is there any chance you can expand the budget to say $400 - $500? You might want floor speakers or a pair of book shelf speakers and a subwoofer.

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the replies everyone. Is there a specific reason that stereo is better for music? I would be using the tv/movies, just not as much. What do you guys think of the yamaha receiver that Plymouth posted vs. this one?

http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-820-K-Home-Theater-Receiver/dp/B0039XQL2G

Platinum Member

Columbia, South Carolina

Post Number: 14336
Yamaha makes good receivers, and while I might suggest Onkyo as an alternative, they would cost a bit more as well.