Turntable Advice Wanted

Username: Luddiciousp

Post Number: 1
Hi All,

I am new to turntables but am looking to buy one to match with my HK 130 receiver and Fluence SXHTB speaker system. Are quality turntables available for $200-500? If so, what do you recommend? Is it best to buy new or used (/can used turntables be trusted?)? What are the main qualities that I should be looking for in a quality, budget turntable?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 16313

http://www.musicdirect.com/c-529-turntables.aspx?sortfield=Price&sortdirection=A SC&perpage=24&BrandFilterID=0

http://www.needledoctor.com/Online-Store/Budget-Turntables

Pick one or two and we can dicuss specifics.

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the links...they are helpful themselves.

So, I like the look of:

1- The Pro-Ject turntables (are the differences between the Debut 3 and the Essential significant?)

2- The Rega RP1 (is a max tracking force weight of 1.75 grams insufficient?)

3- The Denon DP 300F

4- The Audio-Technica LP120 USB (are USB turntables inherently inferior?)

Sorry that I have listed more than one or two tables (I'd appreciate any advice, so no need to feel like you have to respond to all of these turntables). I guess that I should also mention that the primary use of the turntable will be listening (although I wouldn't mind being able to convert vinyl to my computer)

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 16321