Seeking advice on upgrading system

Username: Cpdavey

Norman, OK United States

Post Number: 1
Hi, I would appreciate some advice on where to go next. My current setup comprises an Onkyo TX-SV525 5.1 channel receiver (60W/channel), an Onkyo DX-1800 CD player, and KEF Q1 bookshelf speakers (8 ohm, 100 W). Both Onkyo components are 10+ years old.

I use this equipment in my 12x12 home office, mainly to listen to classical (esp. chamber music and vocal repertoire) with some occasional alternative and jazz. Especially with chamber music I often feel like individual instruments are much less well-defined on my current system than they ought to be. I'd like the sound to be more precise. Most of my listening is at moderate volumes, but I do like to listen to the occasional Mahler symphony at very high volume!

With $1500--$2000, what is my best option? I've had some experience with Rotel and thought they did a good job with classical music, but I'm also intrigued by the Emotiva combo packs ($1500 would get me two 200 W mono-block amps, a stereo preamp, and CD player).

I'd like equipment that will still be suitable if I ever trade in the Q1s for something more high-end. And, of course, I want something that will play well with the Q1s until then.

Unfortunately, the closest non-Best Buy audio retailer is 40 miles away, so listening to a lot of different set-ups to find the one that sounds best isn't really an option for me.

Cheers!

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 15860

So how are you going to buy anything? Just take a recommendation and find it on line?

You want Mahler at loud volumes but the Q1's are not great speakers to be playing Mahler at loud volumes.

Username: Cpdavey

Norman, OK United States

Post Number: 2
Well, I did say the occasional loud Mahler and that I was looking for advice on options that would allow me to grow into something more appropriate at a later date.