Does anyone have any experience with NuVo or Control 4 home systems?

Username: Jmca9999

Post Number: 1
We are doing a renovation and have the opportunity while the walls are open to run wire. I am investigating whole house systems. My electrician is recommending the Concerto by NuVo. It runs on Cat5 wiring and you can put a station in any room. Basically it can use any input, but works well with an IPOD because each room interface picks up the IPOD information.

I spoke with a high end local high end Home Theatre Store and the salesman told me that was a mistake. He recommended his system (Control4) because the NuVo was underpowered and the Cat5 wiring was garbage. The Control4 system would also work off of IPOD or MP3 source material, but the system would be twice as much.

I only want this system for background music in the house and by the pool. I also wonder, since we are only replaying MP3 files anyway, that sound quality is going to be pretty limited anyway.

I am a newbie at this stuff, so any tips would be appreciated. My present system is an HK AVR 435 with Paradigm Studio 20s, a Paradigm CC 570 Center and and Atoms for the rears. The regular posters from this site were really helpful in putting it together.

Does anyone have any input on whether these whole house systems are worth the investment?

Thank you.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 15532

I haven't sold the current systems you mention, only earlier concepts similar to. I've always had a problem with any salesperson who would prefer to bash the competition's products rather than sell their own. I consider it cheap and not helpful to the client. Possibly I'm reading more into your post than is there but you can decide that.