Mcintosh Ma 5100

Username: Frank12391

Post Number: 1
Hi all, I'm new to home audio. I've been into car audio for 15 years but home audio is another ball game altogether. I need some help with this amp. I have quite a few questions here. I hope you can bare with me? Firstly, I have a set of beovox s45-2 that I'm wiring up to the amp - no probs there but also have a velodyne CHT-R 8 that I want to run off it also. I am told that I must use speaker level inputs to the sub as the amp does not have output jacks. The velodyne has both speaker & RCA inputs. The guy I bought the amp off told me to use the tape recording output. Is that correct? There is one RCA out that I can see & a pair of tape outputs as well. The amp specs suggests it has has 90w mono output. Do I need to run it simultaneously from the stereo speaker terminals to the sub; And can I run 2 of these amps together with 1 source, a CD player to drive more speakers? Thanking you. Jess.

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 4031
Don't use the tape out, as far as I know, this won't be controlled by the volume on the amp. I've run subs off other integrateds by using the speaker inputs on the sub.

This is what I've done in the past - run the + from one channel and the - from the other channel into the speaker level inputs on the sub. There, done.

Sydney, N.S.W Australia

Post Number: 3
That is bridging the amp, Mono - Stereo / try mode, is that correct? That is not uncommon in car audio. Is that common practice in home audio?

Gold Member

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 4036
Nope, I don't think you're doing any bridging, since the sub will presumably be powered, so there's no load on the amp. The sub, by design, will be running in mono, and the amp still in stereo.

Gold Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 1272
The sub's speaker level inputs will NOT load an amp at all. These kinds of inputs have pretty large input impedance.