Quick question about behringer EP 4000

Silver Member
Username: Cwruck

Post Number: 243
http://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-BEH-EP4000-LIST

is this amp legit? is it really capable of putting out the power it claims? I can get great deals on quality drivers and I wouldn't mind doing a little project of putting an 18 in sub in a 10 cu ft enclosure and bridge it down to 4 ohms to have some crazy power, its actually too much power but they have lower models as well, but this seems to be the best bang for the buck.
I understand i wouldn't be making a "perfect" home theater sub, but thats not my goal, just to give good low end to fill a big room of bass.
thanks for any comments, i appreciate it

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 3985
I'm no expert on DIY stuff, but if I were to build a sub, I'd use a dedicated subwoofer plate amp like this:

http://http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-805

Why buy a stereo amp when your sub is going to run in mono?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14919

"I understand i wouldn't be making a "perfect" home theater sub, but thats not my goal, just to give good low end to fill a big room of bass."

Then you certainly do not need a 10 cubic foot enclosure.

Silver Member

Post Number: 245
the reason for a 10 cu ft enclosure is just because i can do it, and the kid in me just wants to have loud bass, thinking an Fi Q or something, ill probably build my own sub and tune the box around 32 hz or so.

the only reason for asking is just to get more power instead of spending more on a plate amp for less power.
I realize after doing some research this probably won't work the way i want it too, but if im bridging it down that would work to run a single sub right?

Gold Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 1230