So I'm entering the HT world

Bronze Member
Username: Lnhiv

Tempe, AZ USA

Post Number: 18
I've been into car audio since I was 16, and now that I have my own home, I'd like to start building a decent HT setup.

I want to start by building a pair of front speakers, and work my way around the room from there. I already have a Yamaha RX-V467 which I just picked up last week. Currently I've got an old pair of PA cabinets that were just lying around hooked up to it. I want to stay budget-oriented, because I'm still a college student, but I still want decent quality and sound.

So on to the good stuff...I've been reading a lot about everything and here's what I've come up with so far for a simple 2-way setup:

Dayton DC200-8 8" woofer
Either the Dayton RS100T-8 4" full range or the Tang W3-1364SA 3" full range
Crossed over at 425 Hz with a simple 1st order Butterworth.

I haven't contemplated the box yet, other than I'll chamber the woofer separately from the full range and port it. Honestly idc how large or small the cabinet is anyways.

So what I'm looking for now is suggestions, reviews, ideas, etc when it comes to this. I can build a cabinet and a crossover with no issues...making a set of speakers work together in an environment I have no experience in is the issue I have.

Btw, the room is about 22' W x 12' D x 15' H, with about 40% of the tv wall not there cause it joins into the dining room.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14903

You can start with PartsExpress, they have a monthly DIY article.

You can also head over to the DIY forums; http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/loudspeakers/

If you're looking for something more specific than a "vented" design, just place the description in a search engine. Most raw driver manufacturers and retailers also have articles and projects on their webpages.

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 15042
Why did you choose the Yamaha, Larry?

Bronze Member

Tempe, AZ USA

Post Number: 19