Which speaker cables known brand name or other?

Username: Izzzzzz6

ChamonixFrance

Post Number: 1
Hi there i am new to ecoustics. I was looking for a thread which discussed speaker cables but haven't worked out how to find one that is a current discussion as there are so many old threads that come up in the search.
My question is weather to go for a top brand speaker cable, i have been looking at used cables such as cable talk, qed and van den hull however nothing was as cheap and as fat as this OFC 6mm 762 Strand cable i found on ebay item 270370467142 ok so it's not silver plated but it's huge so it must have a very high current carrying capacity. Some of my speakers are bi wired so i was considering using some of the qed silver plated cable to drive the top end and running the fat ebay stuff to the mid bass. Does anybody have any opinions on this?
Thanks.

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 14716
Yes, I have an opinion, but that will be reserved until we find out what 500W amp you have, and 79db efficient speaks that require such a large conductor.
Welcome to the forum, James.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14618

You have to think of cables as another component within your system. They are not bumperstickers you select simply because you like their look.

"Fat" and "silver plated" are mere buzzwords of the industry that will pass just as most other buzzwords have left the building. Without understanding the thinking behind those words you are doing yourself, your system and your music a disservice. I know this advice virtually always falls on deaf ears once someone has decide to buy something but stop looking at buzzwords and consider what might actually benefit your music.