Plinius 8150 integrated amp with dali icon 6 speakers

Username: Gnanasekhar

Nagercoil, Tamilnadu India

Post Number: 1
i am new to audio systems. I have decided to buy dali icon 6 speakers and a used plinius 8150 amp. Iam looking for a good combo for the last 8 month and i am in a lot of confusion. If anybody can help me with valuable suggestions i will be veeery grateful

Gold Member
Username: My_rantz

Gold CoastAustralia

Post Number: 3041
It sounds like you've already made up your mind. What is it that you arte confused about?

Post Number: 2
sir, i am from india. Generally i prefer to listen the choral works of Handel, Mozart, John Rutter etc and boy's bands. I want to know if the combo is good for choral music and whether it will match SPECIFICATIONWISE. The plinius(used one) is available in Chennai and the most important thing is i could not audition them. In fact a have to go ahed with your guidance only. My other options are nad c372 and Arcom fmj28. Please help me with your advices.

Gold Member
Username: My_rantz

Gold CoastAustralia

Post Number: 3042
Well Plinius has an undeniably good reputation, the Arcam fmj would be ahead of the NAD 372 in terms of musicality, while the C372 has great power and strong bass it isn't in the class of the Plinius and Arcam. I have no experience with the Dalis so without the opportunity of audtioning, it is a bit of a crap shoot unless, (a) you know the condition of the amps, (b) what is the likelyhood of obtaining service and parts, and © can the amp satisfy the requirements of the Dalis in terms of power and impedence swings.

What is your source Gnana?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14620

"The speaker should not be that hard to drive, which, in combination with its highish sensitivity, will make it a good match for relatively low-powered amplifiers and receivers."; http://www.stereophile.com/floorloudspeakers/706dali/index3.html