What if my amp and receiver have the same wattage?

Username: Clgood75

Dearborn, MI USA

Post Number: 1
In order for an amp to do it's job, does it need to have a higher wattage than the device that it's supposed to amplify?

The reason for my question is that I just bought a Nakamichi 730 receiver and Nakamichi PA-5 Stasis amp. They are both rated at 100W.

I am just getting into audio equipment so please forgive my ignorance. And thanks for your help.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14594

You can't hook the receiver up to the amplifier - or vice versa. It's one or the other but not both.

Hope you saved your receipts.

Username: Clgood75

Dearborn, MI USA

Post Number: 2
I should have mentioned this but the receiver has pre-outs on it.

Gold Member
Username: Jrbay

Livonia [Detroit area], Michigan USA

Post Number: 1157
Greetings,

When you use the pre-outs of the receiver into the amp, and this is the ONLY way to connect these two devices, you will be by passing the amplifier section of the receiver. The end result is likely to be the same if you do this as it would be if you used the receiver as a stand alone device. I would do some heavy duty comparisons and return the amp if I could.

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14595

My opinion then would be to return the receiver. Buy a dedicated pre amp for the power amp.