Klipsch Speakers with receiver

Username: Split_shoes

Post Number: 1
I just bought a pair of Klipsch VF-35 floorstanding speakers(towers). I have been recommended only NAD and Denon by a local shop. I have read many times that Klipsch speakers are bright and need to be matched with a mellow receiver. I mentioned this to the local shop and he said he was unaware of this and said that Yamaha and Klipsch should work together with no problems...

I am setting up my system in the bedroom, and I am not going to be hooking it up to the TV. This is purely for playing cd's and my ipod. I never listen to the radio so it is not a necessity.

The NAD I've been pointed towards is the NAD326bee.

I've mostly read that NAD, H/K, and Pioneer Elite are the best matches. My price range is around $500. I've also been recommended looking at amps/preamps but I have no knowledge on those as of now.

I have an old JVC cd changer which I am borrowing for awhile that will go along with this. Any suggestions on purchasing a new one would be great, price range is unsure but nothing above $500. Only looking for a 6-disc.

Last thing, the music I listen to is mostly hardcore. Two quick examples if this would help choosing the receiver:
Shipwreck- myspace.com/shipwreckmv
Foundation- myspace.com/xfoundationx
Forfeit- myspace.com/forfeitny

Thank you.

Gold Member
Username: Chitown

Post Number: 1461
If this is a music only setup, I would look into an integrated amp, not a receiver.

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 3474
What Stof said.

I've paired Klipsch with Yamaha. It's not a match made in heaven, but for you hardcore tunes it would certainly crank.

Gold Member
Username: Gavdawg

Albany, New York

Post Number: 1371
Pioneer / Pioneer elite is probably going to be your best match IMHO.

Yamaha? Possibly the new ones as I have not heard one, but the older ones would make an awful combo. I would not try this.

Post Number: 2