Advice on Mid Priced HT Receiver and Speakers

Hi All;
I'm new to the HT scene, and am seeking advice on a Receiver and speakers. I just purchased a Hitachi 51S500 (love it). TO start, I'm going to use some older PSB bookshelf speakers for the surround, and use the Hitachi TV speakers for the center. So, I'm looking to purchase a Receiver, front speakers (towers) and a sub to start, and later add a center and better surrounds. My budget is $1,000 - $1,200. My listening will be 60% music/40% movies. I have a turntable and lots of LPs so the receiver must have phone jacks. I listened to the Onkyo TX SR700 (refurb at $349) through some Polk R50 towers and the power seemd a bit weak. We had it up to 70 out of 100, and it was not that loud. I've heard that the Yamaha, although they have good power, tend to lack "warmth" for music listening. I'd appreciate any thoughts and/or recommendations, as I know there are many experienced and helpful folks on this forum.\
Thanks!
Boots

Hawk
Boots:

Given the following factors:

1. You want some tower speakers;

2. You want a little warmth to the sound;

3. You have noticed some 100 wpc receivers aren't really capable of producing 100 wpc (Onkyo, Denon, Yamaha, Sony, just to name a few of the usual suspects);

4. You listen to 60% music (a very important factor); and

5. You have a budget of $1000-1200,

I would suggest the following:

Receiver:

You need a musical receiver. Unfortunately, there are very few out there. For your budget, I would look at an NAD 742 or an Outlaw 1050. The NAD is a 50 wpc x 5 receiver that has more power than the Onkyo you heard (I know because I compared them directly--the NAD has an honest rating). MSRP is $649, but you can still get one from Saturday Audio for $449 (www.saturdayaudio.com). Look on their "Deals Page." I am strongly considering one for my study for strictly two channel listening to LPs and CDs.