Ceiling speakers options

Gold Member
Username: Loc_out

SoCal

Post Number: 3052
What's up guys? Just moved into my new house two weeks ago. The house was pre wired for ceiling speakers. I am new to home setups. I'm looking to buy 4 ceiling speakers but don't have a clue which ones. Can you guys help me out. Budget is around 300-500.

Someone pointed me to these
http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-372
I dont now if those would work for a home theater.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14270

For the most part ceiling speakers are a compromise when they are used in a HT. I would suggest you at least buy something you can audition beforehand or assume they are all compromises and buy the speakers from PartsExpress.

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 3439
I agree with Jan. A buddy of mine has a small HT system with in-wall speakers, and while it sounds ok, his previous setup with small Paradigms (Titans and Atoms) sounded better.

Gold Member
Username: Loc_out

SoCal

Post Number: 3061
So are we saying that inwall/ceiling speaker have less sq?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14281

What I'm saying is in-wall speakers are quite variable in SQ and your position to them makes their quality even more variable.