Audio system for bedroom

Silver Member
Username: Domenico

Glendale, AZ USA

Post Number: 240
As you could tell from the tittle I'm looking for a surround sound system for my room.

I watch a lot of action movies so i am basing the audio system off that.

I also play a lot of first person shooter games, I want to set my xbox to the system so I get a full gaming package.

I would like the kind of system that if a bullet is shot from my right side I can hear it pass onto my left side.

I called best buy and told them the amount of speakers I want and the told me it's a 5.1 system?

I am new to home audio, but do fk with car audio so I do know the basics.

My budget is 300-400

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14206

$300-400 really isn't much for a system that allows bullets to pass by your ears. That might be your starting price for a computer based system where you sit a few feet from the front speakers that are place a couple of feet apart. In a room the size of any average bedroom $300-400 is about what most if us would suggest you spend just for the receiver. Another $300-400 for the speakers and another for the sub and you'd have a beginning system that can do what you ask.
Given the lack of replies to your post I would say most of us don't have anything to suggest in your price range.

Why not go down to a shop and give a listen to what they have to offer? If you have a better audio store than BestBuy, try them first. And forget most of what you know about car audio - it has rules that do not apply to home systems.

Silver Member

Glendale, AZ USA

Post Number: 243
I don't think there is any local audio store where I live by so I'd have to go to best buy, frys, walmart, etc.

Could you list a couple brands to look for and brands not to look for?

The thing that really kills me is that I don't need a htib with a DVD player. I need one with a reciver so I can hook my xbox up too it.

Can I also get some basic pointers?