Serious Buy

Username: Greg_whitman

Post Number: 1
Hey. Here's my situation. I've been waiting to buy a good quality sound system for a while now. But I'm new to the world of "serious" audio.
I like clarity and richness in the sound of my music and I'm not too into the heavy bass. However, I understand that I can't let someone else decide for me, and that listening to a system myself is the most realistic method of buying a system.
But, as I am new to all of this, I need a jump start on at least: what parts i need to buy and what companies are reputable.
And when I say "parts" I mean: amps, speakers, subwoofers, disc changers, equalizers, etc.

Additionally, I have a max budget of about $1000. Can anyone help me?

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt

Irvington, New York USA

Post Number: 3539
Greg,

Its good that you're aware that you have to go out and listen. Find a good hifi shop (not Best Buy, et al) and have a listen to what they have. That'll tell you way more than we ever could.

What dictates what you need is the room. Is it a big open room, or a small closed room? Is it a family room or dedicated audio room? Are you just listening to music, or will you have a TV hooked up? 2 channel or mulit-channel?

The size and layout of the room will dictate what type of speakers will work best. The speakers may dictate how much amplification you need.

Do you need a radio tuner?
Internet Radio?
Will you use a CD player?
Turntable?
Computer music/music streamer?

More and more people are getting away from CD players and using computer music, either streaming it wirelessly or through USB.

Telling you what you need makes no sense until we know what you want the system to do.
You can build a very good sounding system for $1000 if you're smart about it.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 14150