Suggestions for a newbie

Username: Davewest

Post Number: 1
Hi there. I need suggestions on speakers for my shop. I have a Yamaha RX-396 on the way and need 2 sets of bookshelf speakers that will perform well. They will live in my woodshop, so handling volume is important, and decent sound wouldnt hurt either. I dont want to spend too much, but neither do I want something I cant hear over the machinery either.

I have a set of Sharp CP-DK257N bookshelf type speakers. They are rated at 4 ohms, 80 watts. From what I can tell, its not advisable to run 4 ohm speakers with an 8 ohm receiver. ? Im tempted to try them out, but dont want to damage the receiver as Ive read is possible. What are your thoughts on that?

Another question. The yamaha is 2 channel receiver, 50 watts per channel, with A and B speaker selector. Does this mean 50 watts per channel for the A set, and 50 watts for the B set of speakers? (Told ya I was a newbie!)

Again, I need 2 sets of speakers, and most of my money is wrapped up in tools, so be gentle with the price considerations ;)

Thanks

Gold Member
Username: My_rantz

I come from ...

Post Number: 2547
Dave, yes do not run those 4 ohm speakers.

You have a 50 watt receiver and you want some volume because these will be located in a woodshop. I hope you are not expecting to listen over a buzz saw:-)

You'll need some fairly sensitive speakers - preferably 90db @1 watt and better and with an 8 ohm nominal impedence. Don't take too much notice of speaker wattage except some don't handle all that well without decent power driving them.

Google various brands - KEF comes to mind with thier high sensitivity. I'm sure others will chime in with more brands to look out for. As far as sound quality goes - we can't tell you what your ears will like.

Post Number: 2