Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K vs. Onkyo TX-SR607

Bronze Member
Username: Blade1

Post Number: 31
I want to upgrade my AVR and am debating on either of these. For some reason I always wanted to get my hands on the Onkyo...but Pioneer seems to be a winner for me in this case.

Is pioneer the correct choice? My budget is $500 - so if there is anything better in that price I would really appreciate.
If it helps, I don't need the 7.1. I just need some really good/clean sound with great upconversion (to an extent) and can decode HDMI sound. Real HD

I currently have a Yamaha rx-v363 AVR andd it has been good so far. I want something big now.

Your opinions are highly appreciated

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 3089
I really liked my Pioneer VSX-1016K. I still have it on my gaming system, actually. Onkyo I have no experience with, but a lot of guys on here like it.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 33
thank you very much for your input

Gold Member

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 3090
No problem! Listen to both, if you get the chance.

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 3807
Blade

The Onkyo TX-SR607's competitor is the Pioneer VSX-919. The 1019 is the next level up and appreciably better. If you can get it for $500 I'd think that was a steal or a mistake.

If you really meant the 919, it's a difficult choice between the two, but there's something very nice about the Pioneer's sound.

Frank.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 35
Thank you Frank. I am talking about Pioneer VSX-1019AH-K to be exact. Im selling my old receiver and set of speakers for about 400 will only be spending a $100 or so for this product.

Thank you very much

Gold Member

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 3099
Sounds like a good deal to me Blade.

Gold Member

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 3813