NAD C515BEE vs Cambridge 540C v2

Username: Zitro

Orlando, Florida USA

Post Number: 1
Hey,

To finish off my budget hi-fi, I am looking to upgrade my rather old 1 bit cd player lol. I am a college student on a budget, however, and my price cap is $300. I have narrowed it down to these two players, the NAD C515BEE and the Cambridge 540C v2. i wanted to know if anyone had any input on these? I love my NAD integrated, but heard Cambridge also makes great players. Both have an equal price of $299.99 so that is irrelevant. Anyone own either of these? Thanks.

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 13027
I havn't heard the 315, JO, but I first heard the 542 cdp. and most of what I have read compares very favorably between the two.
I would try the 315Bee with the other NAD stuff before anything else for such a reasonable price.

Platinum Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 10381
The C515BEE has a pretty good rep and that would be my choice based on my listening.

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 2861
I own the 640C and it's a great CDP, but if you already own an NAD integrated, then get the NAD. Easy choice.

Platinum Member

Post Number: 13031
Done.

Orlando, Florida USA

Post Number: 2
Well this seems pretty unanimous lol. Works for me; I was leaning towards the NAD from what I've heard and from the fact that I'm so impressed with my NAD integrated. Since soemone mentioned it, does matching brands of CDP/amp/preamp etc make a difference? I'm new to all this lol.

Platinum Member

Post Number: 13036
Certainly does, especially when you work within the same time frame.
Some stuff fits into the synergy, but sometimes the componant goes awry, or 'new', but NAD is safe and predictable.

Buy

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 2862
Agreed. Buy.

Pick up one for me too. Thanks.

Platinum Member

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 10389
Buy

Me 3!

Platinum Member

Post Number: 13041