NAD T-762 suddenly turns off

Anonymous
Maybe someone could help me with this one...

Current setup: Axiom mt80s and nad t-762

Novice here:

When my nad works, I love it. For some reason though, when I'm playing cd or dvd and I get set the volume somewhat loud, the receiver will just turn off and I have to power back on.

Is this common...i think the receiver is trying to protect itself but why?... when the speakers should be able to handle the receiver or vice versa.

I'm not sure about the guage of the speaker wire i'm running because it isn't marked but I'm going to buy 12 guage (not sure if this will help or not).

Please help me here as I just got this receiver and speakers the other day.

Thanks, MIke

John Allen
Is it really hot when it turns off? Can't really touch the case? There is an overheating cut-out. But you would have to have it on incredibly loud for a long time with a T762 and any normal speakers.

Anonymous
Did the fan kick in?

Was the receiver very hot?

Do you have proper ventilation for the receiver?

The NAD T762 should be able to run those speakers all day without a problem. Unless you play it extremely loud more than 50% all day long. Even then I don't think it would shut down.

MIke
Receiver isn't hot at all. I can get it to do it pretty much right away if I crank the volume up loud enough 10+ db on receiver volume.

Sometimes it won't do it all the time. I'm starting to think it may be a setting issue because it seems to happen more often under the coaxial/fiber optic digital setting. I'm wondering if I run a component that isn't using the digital audio output at a high volume when I have the receiver set thinking it is dolby digital that it would cause the receiver to kick off.

Just got this receiver and the axioms hooked up today.