Carver amp models

Username: Eagle777

Post Number: 1
Hello all, I am looking to purchase a 150w per channel into 8 ohm 2 channel Carver magnetic field amp. Can anyone tell me what models fall into that category? Do the models in that power range have their own controls or do I need to by a preamp with any of their models in that power range? What speaker brands and models (8 ohm) match well with Carver equipment in that power range?

Thanks

Craig

Gold Member
Username: Mike3

Wylie, Tx USA

Post Number: 1869
If I may ask, why Carver?

I have an M-0.5t that has one channel in need of repair. It has the watts you are asking about plus a few more.

Let me know if you are interested in it. Roland Barr could refurbish it for you. You can find him on the internet.

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 2471
Carver seems to be one of those companies where the hype supersedes the products actual value, from what I've read and heard. I have no experience with Carver stuff, though.

Silver Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 423
Bob Carver is one of those guys who is subject to much controversy and .....dare I say? bad press.
That being said, I have an ancient M4.0t, which provided years of service. It also has 1 dead channel.
If I were interested in a vintage piece, of 200 watts /less per channel some Adcom models come to mind, at least one of which is a Nelson Pass design of some repute.
While my Carver, of mid 80s vintage provided years of service, I probably should have traded up years earlier.

If I was interested in a Bob Carver designed piece, and was willing to put up with what may end up to be a real fix-it treat, I'd look for one of the Phase Linear amps...which while fairly conventional, got good press......before Bob arguabley went off the deep end.

Gold Member
Username: Mike3

Wylie, Tx USA

Post Number: 1871
Larry, you missed your queue!

Bronze Member
Username: 70chevelle

Post Number: 56