Need help with Sansui AU-7900 amp

Username: Stst

Post Number: 1
I have a sansui au-7900, When it was cold, it didnt work, but after 10 - 15 minutes it works fine ... But this week he stop working... he do the same thing but when he open i need to put on full volume to hear a little sound from my inputs ... I'm new with that and dont know what to do ... Capacitor ? after 30 years ?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13434

We can't diagnose such a problem in an amplifier over the forum. If you're interested in keeping a 30 year old amp going, take it to a repair shop. You're unlikely to find anyone in a typical shop willing to take responsibility for an amplifier this old. Place "vintage audio repair" in a search engine.

http://www.atlasaudiorepair.com/

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 11912
Power supply chain is leaking badly.
Off to the shop.
Dont plug it in again, as the supply may hook up during the test and go full output.

Post Number: 2
Thanks alot, I will bring it to a repair shop this weekend, If some one interested about what it have i will give up news ... I never think about the power supply ... some people around me said change capacitor first ...

Platinum Member

Post Number: 11920
The power caps are in the supply chain, but would likely cause other things if it was just a cap...but never know.
Let us know?

Platinum Member

Post Number: 11921
And welcome to the forum sd.

Post Number: 3
Thanks, I'm happy i got a really fast answer .... We have that amp over 25 years at home and we want it back in working order :P

Platinum Member

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13439

If the electrolytic power supply caps were "leaking", there would be a familiar and constant 60Hz hum when the amp was operating. Electrolytics don't generally warm up and then make contact to pass signal, they are either good or bad and little in between.