Good speakers at low volume?

Username: Tyreal

Post Number: 1
Situation: I'm trying to build a good surround home theater system for movies and I am in need of some good speakers. I desire great hi fi quality sound but I have relatively good hearing so I don't listen to movies loud.

Since I'm relatively new to the audio world, most speakers have sounded good in the store show rooms, which is why I am having issues on what to buy (current fav's are the paradigm monitor 7s).

Limitations:
* 16 x 11 basement room (carpet on top of cement)
* Town house with neighbors on one side of the room (which I know deep base will go through -- have had issues with them in the past, but mid/treb doesn't seem to go through)
* Price range 1,000-1,500 -- was thinking of starting with just center and L/R towers, then buying better surrounds in the far future.

Current Amp: Sony STR-DA3400ES 7.1 (100 watts per channel) -- I might be returning this and getting something else -- probably an equivalent Onkyo.

Questions:

1) Are there specific speakers/manufacturers that will work well with my Sony receiver (or Onkyo)?
2) Will tower speakers for my front L/R be too much for my small room? The reason I ask this is because most manufacturers recommend bookshelf speaker systems for "small rooms"
3) Will those bass traps allow me to have deep bass in my basement and not annoy my neighbors?
4) Since my HD cable box movies are 5.1 and a lot of the true HD blu-rays are 5.1, can I use older speakers for rear left/right and it wouldn't ruin the sound? Or should I try to get the full 7.1?

Thanks,

Username: Haffiz_abdul

Toronto, Ontario

Post Number: 1
Wow, you probably don't even need that much money, if you check out my website, www.ezelectronixshop.com, i cary tons of surround sound equipment for much less thatn that especially if you don't want too muc base. Check in the home theater area.

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 11422