TDL Speakers

Username: Shanel

SouthallUK

Post Number: 1
Hi I am new to this nice site.

I'm very interested in one day getting some compact floor standing TDL speakers, maybe a pair of Studio 1 M's or the O.75 from TDL. I do like the transmission line sound, considering my rega Ela's are quarter wave transmission line speakers. But they are not full transmission lines if you know what I mean.

I'm using a nice NAD C272 power amp with a rotel pre amp, would the TDLs be ok with this set up? And just to say my music taste is just Grunge rock and lots of techno and some Jazz. And many other things.

My bedroom is square shaped, size is 11ft long and 9ft wide.

Regards

Shane

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13045

" ... considering my rega Ela's are quarter wave transmission line speakers. But they are not full transmission lines if you know what I mean."

Nope, I have no idea what you mean. The idea of a "quarter wave resonator" is to use a strong resonant point of the wave length to gain bass extension without the size of enclosure a "full transmission line" would require. Transmission lines are roughly lumped in with quarter wave pipes and both enclosure types share similar characteristics. There is really no such thing as a "quarter wave transmission line" - the terms being redundant. You can have a generic "transmission line" which relies on a quarter wave resonance and you can have a "quarter wave pipe" which is broadly similar to a transmission line but not always the same.

http://www.t-linespeakers.org/design/classic.html

http://www.quarter-wave.com/

http://www.tnt-audio.com/casse/tqwp_e.html

A square room would have problems that should be addressed - all square rooms have problems. But 11X9 is not a square.