Simple question - Warmth vs. Detail.

Username: Mrspeeed

Canada

Post Number: 3
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie. What provides the detail vs warmth? Is it the amp/power source or the processor?

Thanks,

Bronze Member
Username: Sun_king

Leeds, West Yorkshire UK

Post Number: 80
Well, the biggest contributor to warmth/brightness/detail etc is the amplifer in my opinion. Of course all components are linked and alter the sound but the amp is the main player. You can make a warm amp brighter by using different speakers and the same is true for a bright amp but you are never going to totally alter the trademark sound of your amp.

Canada

Post Number: 4
Sun King,

Thanks for your reply. That is what I thought but still didn't know for sure. You are from the UK so you may know, are Missions generally known as detailed or warm? I only have my system as a point of reference. When I bought them I did because they were clear or detailed. I am just trying to buy an appropriate amp.

Thanks again.

Bronze Member

Leeds, West Yorkshire UK

Post Number: 82
Missions are generally known to be warm and smooth, with prominent bass. Like many speaker manufacturers though, their ranges differ and some are bright sounding. A lot of modern speakers tend to be more detailed these days. Which Missions do you have and what sort of a sound are you after? Maybe we can direct you towards a particular amp.

Canada

Post Number: 7
Thanks for the informative post.

I have the 700 series including 704 towers, 701 rears and 70c2 center - they are a value speaker line with glass composite cones, soft cloth (or silk I don't know) tweeters.