Use of Equaliser with Hydrophone

Username: Dolphinquest

Kralendijk, Bonaire Netherlands ...

Post Number: 1
Hi Everyone, I'm totally new to this and it is my first posting, so please accept my apologies if I am doing anything incorrectly.

I am a research scientist involved in understanding Dolphin behaviour and I need to use a hydrophone to expand my research.

I purchased one and set it up but it has raised lots of questions that the supplier wont answer so I need to find a group of people that might point me in the right direction.

I have a number of very simple questions, so I will start to ask them one at a time if this post receives any favourable responses.

Thank you in advance and best Wishes, Ron Sewell, Bonaire

Username: Dolphinquest

Kralendijk, Bonaire Netherlands ...

Post Number: 2
The first thing that I need to understand is as follows:

The hydrophone came with a pre-amp

That allowed me to hook up to powered speakers and listen to sound.

The pre amp was destroyed recently.

I tried hooking the hydrophone head up to a regular audio system and to a computer but could not hear anything but static.

Is it essential to have a pre amp in front of an amplifier?

Why?

Thank you for your comments.

Bronze Member
Username: Nency

Post Number: 78
"if you're coming out of a different preamp, the output's already going to be line level. So you shouldn't ever have had the issue"

Gold Member
Username: Magfan

USA

Post Number: 2085
Microphones are low-level devices and will need a 'boost' for most pre amps to handle them.

IF, as it sounds, you hooked speakers to your 'preamp', than it WAS NOT a preamp. It was an amp with a microphone preamp IN it.

Do you have a link to the hydrophone?