Looking for a New Receiver

Username: Raptor45

Post Number: 1
I'm a college student living in an apartment. I've got an old set of 5.1 speakers, but need a receiver. Basically, I'm looking for a cheap 5.1 receiver with all the basics to get me going. I was thinking of a Yamaha HTR-6130 for $184, since it seems to be decent/cheap. Any better suggestions in the $200 range?

EDIT: I just found the Onykyo TX-SR304 for $150. Would that be a good alternative to save some cash?

Also, the subwoofer I have has Left/Right speaker jacks as opposed to sub-out most receivers seem to have. Can I just buy/make a cable to hook this up?

Silver Member
Username: Afj

GaboroneBotswana

Post Number: 101
they're both good brands though i would prefer the onkyo. if the power requirements suit youre speakers go for it. am not sure about the sub, but make sure it powers itself

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 1301
Your sub may be a passive one. Does it have an onboard amplifier on the back?

Gold Member
Username: Dmitchell

Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 1302
Also, I've never heard the Onkyo, but I have owned the Yamaha 6130. It's really not bad if you're just going to be using it for watching movies.

Post Number: 2
I have the JBL SAT2's: http://www.jbl.com/home/product_support/default.aspx?ProdId=SAT2&Buy=N. From 1993 apparently, but they suit my needs. I assume they will be fine? They say 8 ohms/10-120 watts.

The sub must be plugged in so I assume its powered. It also has left/right line-in's. Should I get a Y cable for the sub-out on the receiver? Or does it just need to be plugged in on one channel.

Any more comments on which receiver to go with?

Silver Member

GaboroneBotswana

Post Number: 102
both receivers will match your speakers. from what i've heard the onkyo's will be better when it comes to music. ht wont be so much of a difference. i would go for the onkyo

Post Number: 3