Where do I start?

Silver Member
Username: Quirky

SA, Texas

Post Number: 272
With gas prices so high and my car only getting 12 mpg, I don't get to enjoy being in my car as much as I want to. I've decided to take a break from car audio and get into home audio. I assume its the same concepts.

I'm a college student so the set up will be going in a small apartment. I only care to listen to music so i am guessing a 5.1 system is fine. My major set back is my spending money is small so i know it will take many steps in completing my system. At this point i only have 400 or so to spend.

Where do i start?

Thanks,
Ben Quirk

Silver Member

SA, Texas

Post Number: 273
I do not know much about brands. I really don't care about looks, only sound. I already have a powered sub made by proficient audio (don't know how that compares). I don't care much about the bells and whistles on a receiver, I just want it to do its job well. Please guide me in the right direction.

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 10502
2 speakers and an integrated amp, both pre-loved.
Music sourced from a pc with files in FLAC or Apple lossless, NOT MP3.

Silver Member

SA, Texas

Post Number: 274
Thanks Nuck for responding. Can you guide me to some brand names to look at for speakers and for an integrated amp?

Silver Member

SA, Texas

Post Number: 275
Maybe I'm not asking on the right forum. Can someone at least point to me where I can find out more information on brands to look at?

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 12802