Archive through May 21, 2008

Username: Bigdavve

Tampa, FL

Post Number: 1
I am buying a bar! The former owner is taking the audio system with him, it was home gear, a decent Yamaha receiver and CD player running 4 bookshelf speakers and a powered sub. This isn't a nightclub, there's no need for booming loud sound. It's about 900 square feet in the bar area with a 12' ceiling. I'd like to upgrade things somewhat, so I talked to a pro audio guy, he said he could put together a good system for about $10,000 installed. That's more than I want to spend. I have a lot of experience with audio, installing a system here would be no problem for me. I am leery about using home equipment though. I know the last guy seemed to do fine with it, I'm just wondering if it's nuts to expect home gear to hold up if it's on for 12+ hours a day, 7 days a week-even if for at least half of the time it is at fairly low volume. Yet, I don't have much experience with pro gear, I know that the connectors are different and there are other differences, so I'd feel more comfortable buying home gear. The budget I came up with is:Receiver $500, 2nd Amp $400, CD Player $200, 6 Bookshelf Speakers $1500, Powered Sub $400, Wires/Cables $300, Miscellaneous $500. That's $3800, a lot less than $10,000! Any ideas or comments?

Platinum Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 10133
DS, you might want to run down to the Guitar Shop or Music dealer ans see about pro stuff. Powered monitors, a small board, etc.
Pro stuff uses balanced connections, thats an XLR...good connections.

Silver Member
Username: John_ashman

Albuquerque, NM United States

Post Number: 204
The budget I came up with is:Receiver $500, 2nd Amp $400, CD Player $200, 6 Bookshelf Speakers $1500, Powered Sub $400, Wires/Cables $300, Miscellaneous $500. That's $3800, a lot less than $10,000! Any ideas or comments?